I wanted to write today and say that I made chicken livers last night with a recipe from the Nourishing Traditions Cookbook and that I loved them as much as I have loved the other recipes from that book. I wanted to say that I would now be able to incorporate healthy organ meats into our diet at least a few times a month. The truth is I fumbled through making them wondering how you are supposed to slice livers as small as ¼ of an inch thick. Successfully, not gagging as I looked at the livers, able to tell which ones were healthier livers (in life) than the others. Then, at dinner I gagged down four bites being reminded of the time I was present for a neighbor’s hog-killing and the taste of the livers brought back the smell of the hog intestines so clearly. I gave it my best effort. I ate my baked potato and peas and threw in the towel.

We told Ro they were chicken nuggets, but she ate a few and also gave it up, asking for a rollie sandwich. My man ate most of his somehow finding a way to eat them without becoming sick to his stomach. He had ate them before. We won’t be having them again.

We have been eating a Traditional Foods diet for four or five months now. I’m loving it! It makes so much sense and it has made me love cooking and feeding my family. I could go on and on about how cheap food and big companies like ConAgra have made us a food-like substance eating nation instead of a food eating nation. It’s obvious to me now why we are so diseased and overweight.

The guidelines of the diet are extensive, but simple. Basically, if your great-great grandmother wouldn’t recognize it – don’t eat it. White refined sugar and flours are out. Whole milk, real butter, lard, coconut oil, the really good stuff – all in. And… organ meats are very good for you. (We can’t be perfect.)

I know this diet is the right one for us. I have lost all my baby weight plus. I’m at a weight that I’m satisfied with, and still losing. Exerting myself has become fun. I enjoy eating more than ever, and am satiated by the food I eat. I have found cooking to be a great combo of art and science that is fulfilling. The historian in me is loving researching the traditional Appalachian and Cherokee diets as that is what my body is predisposed to tolerating. So, the liver thing was of no fault to Sally Fallon (author of the NT Cookbook and president of the Weston A. Price Foundation) and her recipe. It was the liver’s fault.

There is something rewarding in harkening back to the people that first settled these hills. That made the decision to take up life away from the rest of the world and made it work. It is awesome when you again see proof that industrialization was trying to fix something that wasn’t broke. (No, I don’t believe industrialization is fruitless.) I just won’t be making chicken livers a tradition in this house.

This entry was written while rocking Plo and typing mostly one-handed. It is an acquired talent. As a mama you’ll find yourself multi-tasking in many unheard of ways.

